Frequently Asked Questions
Is this a multi-state permit? All Permit to Carry courses in Minnesota are a multi-state permits. The MN Permit to Carry is currently good in 24 states but does change from state to state occasionally so always refer to www.usacarry.com for the most recent and accurate list.
How long is my permit good for? Minnesota’s Permit to Carry is good for 5 years. After that time has expired you must retake the class and reapply as if it were your first time. Typically it is less expensive if you apply before your permits expiration date is up.
Where do I go to apply for my permit? You must apply in person at your local sheriff’s department in the county you live in, not at your local police department. You have to have your driver’s license and a copy of your certificate from PSSI stating you passed the class. There is also an application form that you must complete; either at the sheriff’s office or you can get it online and complete prior to your arrival.
How much does it cost? Each county is different but they cannot charge you more than $100.00.
Does my Permit to Carry act as a permit to purchase? Yes, if you have your Permit to Carry there is no need for a permit to purchase. You essentially have a permit to purchase for the next 5 years.
Can I carry in places that are posted “This property bans guns from the premise”? Yes, you can still carry at these locations until asked to leave the property. Technically if it is concealed and nobody sees it than you will not be asked to leave and are not committing a crime.
Do I need my Firearm Safety Certificate before I can take my Permit to Carry? No, you do not need this first. There is no prerequisite for this class and the state does not require you to have this to get your permit.
Can I get my Firearm Safety Certificate from this class? No, you would need to take your firearm safety class from an approved instructor from the Minnesota DNR. Visit their website for a list of approved instructors.
Is there a written test to get my Permit to Carry? No, there is not a written test. There is a shooting proficiency qualification at the end of the class. You should/will be able to pass this portion once the class portion is complete.
Can somebody with no shooting experience take this class? Absolutely, this class is an excellent class all around for a new shooter. The class will teach you the laws, gun safety, home defense, shooting platform and make you more comfortable with guns in general.